2020 Gala Awards

Saturday, October 17, 2020; 6 p.m.
350 SW 34th Street
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315

Saturday, October 10, 2015; 6:30 p.m.

Doral_1Resort Sig ShotTrump National Doral Miami

4400 Northwest 87th Avenue, Miami, FL 33178 (View Map)

Details TBA
(More information on Resort is available at their Web site.)
Attire: Black Tie (Optional)



The following individuals will be the award recipients for 2015:

[nectar_portfolio starting_category=”default” project_style=”1″ pagination_type=”default” category=”2015awards” layout=”3″ projects_per_page=””]

Wright Brothers Memorial Award

Gary Spulak; President: Embraer North America

The Greater Miami Aviation Association Wright Brothers Memorial Award is the most prestigious of the GMAA’s awards. Having begun in 1927 as a pioneering Miami-based Florida-focused civil aviation advocacy group, today the GMAA membership and activities are concentrated in and encompass the advancement of the aviation and aerospace community on a global scale.

The Greater Miami Aviation Association Wright Brothers Memorial Award parallels the growth and evolution of the GMAA organization. It is proudly presented to an internationally distinguished industry leader whose substantial contribution to the aviation and aerospace community reflects the innovation, vision, conviction and admired business principles attributed to the positive impact and legacy upon aviation of the Wright Brothers.

Juan Trippe Award

Dr. Emilio T. Gonzalez; Director: Miami-Dade Aviation Department

This award recognizes the significant contributions made by an individual to the development of international aviation. Juan Trippe started Pan American World Airways, Inc. in 1927. Under his leadership, Pan Am essentially represented America’s commercial aviation policy overseas by pioneering international routes and operating global daily flights.

Glenn Curtiss Award

David P. Sutton; Managing Director, Aircraft Acquisitions & Sales: Federal Express Corporation

This Award recognizes extraordinary contributors to the air transport, business and private aviation sectors in the Americas and South Florida for their innovation, customer support and product quality and in the field of education.

Amelia Earhart Award

Marilyn DeVoe; Vice President: American Airlines

This award celebrates woman in aviation and stands for outstanding achievement and accomplishment.

Edward V. Rickenbacker Award

Fred J. Murphy; President/CEO: F&E Aircraft Maintenance

The Edward V. Rickenbacker Award, named for the former Chairman & CEO of Eastern Air Lines, who helped make South Florida a major aviation center and set . His example of the American work ethic is the basis for this award, recognizing an individual whose efforts in commercial aviation have contributed to the economic growth of South Florida.

Corporate Achievement Award

IATA (International Air Transport Association)
Accepting Award will be Peter Cerda

This award recognizes the contributions of a corporation to the aviation industry and the South Florida community.